ishkigamizigan: the sugarbush

by waaseyaa'sin christine sy

ishkigamizigan: the sugarbush

I am THRILLED by the recent publication of “Resurgence of Indigenous Women’s Knowledge and Resistance in Relation to Land and Territoriality” in InTensions: E-Journal through York University’s Fine Arts Department.

Editors Leanne Simpson, Wanda Nanibush, and Carol J. Williams have got me crying with this publication. 

My own audio poem is included and I feel so happy to have my work published in such a collection and honoured to be amongst the contributors. My poems have lived on the page and in public readings for some time now. Being exposed to poets such as Janet Rogers, Rosanna Deerchild, Louise Halfe, and Gregory Scofield, in REAL LIVE PERFORMANCES, inspired me to be more present with the poetry that comes to me and listen to her desire to be alive in different ways. I decided to not only write a piece for this publication but to record this piece with the sounds of the sugarbush.

The technical aspects and newness of it all were intimidating and exhilarating. Chi-miigwech to my friend Zoongde who helped me in the recording of this and creation of the sounds. 

